The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 2001-<u>10</u> RESOLUTION IN SUPPORT OF A NOMINATION TO PROVIDE PROTECTION TO THE MEDICINE WHEEL AND MEDICINE MOUNTAIN

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 400,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS,

The Bighorn Medicine Wheel National Historic Landmark and Medicine Mountain is a sacred site to Indian people; and

WHEREAS,

This area is also a nationally important historic and traditional cultural area important to many people across the country; and

WHEREAS,

Federal agencies, state agencies, local county authorities and tribal representatives have negotiated a Historic Preservation Plan to protect this sacred site; and

WHEREAS,

A nomination is being prepared to establish a boundary for the National Landmark based upon the traditional cultural importance of the site to Native American Indian People; and

WHEREAS,

The area to be included, based upon historic, archeological and ethnographic data which has been collected, is equal to about 15,000 acres; and

WHEREAS,

This nomination will help to provide permanent protection to the Medicine Wheel and Medicine Mountain; and

WHEREAS,

Certain local residents have mounted a campaign to prevent the objective consideration of this nomination and the data contained in it by the Keeper of the National Register in the National Park Service who reviews such nominations.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes:

- 1. Endorses the submission of the 15,000 acre nomination to the Keeper of the National Register; and
- 2. Supports the approval of the nomination by the Keeper of the National Register.

CERTIFICATION

The foregoing resolution was adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma meeting at Durant, Oklahoma on July 13, 2001, by a vote of $\underline{24}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against, and $\underline{0}$ abstentions.

<u>Chadwick Smith Signed</u> Chadwick Smith, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation Greg E. Pyle Signed Gregory E. Pyle, Chief Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation