The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 2001-02

A RESOLUTION URGING DR. TRUJILLO TO DISTRIBUTE THE ADDITIONAL \$70 MILLION FOR SPECIAL DIABETES PROJECT INITIATIVE

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 400,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS.

Congress appropriated an additional \$70 million for the Special Diabetes Project Initiative beginning 2001; and

WHEREAS.

The Tribal Leaders Diabetes Committee and Indian Health Service are conducting tribal consultation to determine the allocation methodology; and

WHEREAS.

The Oklahoma Service Area Tribes conducted round two of consultation on April 17, 2001 in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, and

WHEREAS,

The Oklahoma Service Area Tribes recommends the following:

- ➤ Urban programs receive the same amount of funding that they received in '97 Balanced Budget Act with no additional funds allocated until needs are justified by the urban program.
- ➤ No new money set aside for administration on the national level. Area tribes to decide any administrative set aside at area level.
- ➤ No further money set aside for the National Diabetes Prevention Center.
- ➤ No money set aside for Fitzsimons Center but recommends seeking other funding sources available for research projects.
- ➤ User population be calculated at 40%; TSA be set at a fixed dollar amount \$3,775,000; disease burden be calculated at 60% and remove mortality rate from the formula. Seventy percent of funding to be distributed in 30-45 days and adjustments pursuant to the new formula made to the balance of funding.
- ➤ Grants to be an amendment, not a new Request For Proposal.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma supports the recommendations of the Oklahoma Service Area Tribes and urges Dr. Trujillo to distribute the \$70 million immediately.

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma meeting at Fountainhead Resort, Eufaula, Oklahoma on April 19, 2001, by a vote of $\underline{23}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against, and 0 abstentions.

John A. Ketcher Signed for Chadwick Smith, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed
Perry Beaver, Principal Chief
Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed
Bill Anoatubby, Governor
Chickasaw Nation

Greg E. Pyle Signed
Gregory E. Pyle, Chief
Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed
Jerry Haney, Principal Chief
Seminole Nation