The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES NUMBER 99-26

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS,

The member tribes of this council are all under the jurisdiction of the Muskogee Area Office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and

WHEREAS,

The member tribes of this council have direct interest in the appointment of the position of area director for the Muskogee Area Office.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes hereby formally declares its support for and endorsement of Mr. Jim Fields, for the position of area director of the Muskogee Area Office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

CERTIFICATION

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting at Checotah, Oklahoma, on October 8, 1999, by a vote of $\underline{22}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against, and $\underline{0}$ abstentions.

Mary Cooksey Signed for Chadwick Smith, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation Greg Pyle Signed Gregory E. Pyle, Chief Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation