The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES NUMBER 99-17

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS,

The Workforce Investment Act (WIA) of 1998 includes language which creates a 10% administrative cost for operation of all Indian and Native American WIA programs; and

WHEREAS,

The 10% cap on administrative costs will create severe hardships for Indian and Native American grantees in day-to-day administration of WIA programs; and

WHEREAS,

We hereby oppose the 10% administrative cost cap for operation of Indian and Native American WIA programs.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes strongly opposes the 10% administrative cost cap as proposed by the Workforce Investment Act (WIA) of 1998, presently allowed under JTPA.

CERTIFICATION

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting on April 9, 1999, by a vote of $\underline{24}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against, and $\underline{0}$ abstentions.

J. Garland Eagle Signed for Joe Byrd, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation Greg E. Pyle Signed Gregory E. Pyle, Chief Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation