The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES NUMBER 99-12

A RESOLUTION REQUESTING THE ASSISTANT SECRETARY OF INDIAN AFFAIRS TO APPOINT AN ADDITIONAL REPRESENTATIVE FROM THE MUSKOGEE AREA TO SERVE ON THE TEA-21 NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING COMMITTEE IN ORDER TO BE CONSISTENT WITH NUMBER OF VOTING MEMBERS IN OTHER BIA AREAS.

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS,

The Inter-Tribal Council is aware the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st century (TEA-21) requires a Negotiated Rulemaking Committee to develop a new funding formula and regulations for the Indian Reservation Roads Program; and

WHEREAS,

The recently established committee includes several BIA areas comprised of three (3) voting members per area while the Muskogee Area was allowed only two (2) voting members; and

WHEREAS,

This policy is inconsistent and several limits the ability of tribes in the Muskogee Area to impact this important rulemaking process.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes strongly encourages the Assistant Secretary of Indian Affairs to appoint an additional representative from Muskogee Areas to serve on the TEA-21 Negotiated Rulemaking.

CERTIFICATION

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting on April 9, 1999, by a vote of $\underline{24}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against, and $\underline{0}$ abstentions.

J. Garland Eagle Signed for Joe Byrd, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation Greg E. Pyle Signed Gregory E. Pyle, Chief

Choctaw Nation Jerry Haney Signed

Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation