# The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

#### NUMBER 99-03

A RESOLUTION RECOMMENDING THE U.S. CONGRESS ALLOW INDIAN RESERVATION ROADS FUNDING TO BE USED AS THE NON-FEDERAL MATCHING SHARE TOWARDS THE REPAIR OR REPLACEMENT OF BRIDGES FUNDED UNDER 23 U.S.C. 144

# WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

## WHEREAS,

The Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma are responsible for providing for the health, education and general welfare of their respective constituencies; and

## WHEREAS,

The Inter-Tribal Council is aware that the Transportation Equity Act for the 21<sup>st</sup> Century (TEA-21) has been enacted into law and prohibits Indian Reservation Roads funding to be used as the non-federal matching share towards the repair or replacement of bridges funded under Title 23 U.S.C. Section 144 (Highway Bridge Repair and Replacement Program); and

### WHEREAS,

This requirement is inconsistent with the basic framework established under the previous transportation Act (ISTEA), encouraging states, local governments, and Indian tribes to work together and maximize scarce transportation resources; and

### WHEREAS,

This requirement seriously impacts the ability of Indian tribes and the Bureau of Indian Affairs to repair or replace bridges within or providing access to Indian communities, health care, education, and employment.

# NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma strongly recommends that the U.S. Congress amend Title 23 U.S.C. Section 120 (K), to include bridge projects funded under Section 144, in its deliberations for the FY-2000 and subsequent Department of Transportation Appropriations Act.

The foregoing resolution was adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting held Tahlequah, Oklahoma on January 15, 1999, by a vote of  $\underline{24}$  for,  $\underline{0}$  against, and 0 abstentions.

Joe Byrd Signed

Joe Byrd, Principal Chief

Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed

Perry Beaver, Principal Chief

Muscogee (Creek) Nation

David Brown Signed for

Bill Anoatubby, Governor

Chickasaw Nation

Greg E. Pyle Signed

Gregory E. Pyle, Chief

**Choctaw Nation** 

Jerry Haney Signed

Jerry Haney, Principal Chief

Seminole Nation