The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 2000-22

A RESOLUTION TO SUPPORT AN AMENDMENT OT THE INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL NAGPRA POLICY STATEMENT

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 400,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS,

Public Law 101-601 enacted the "Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA) November 16, 1990 by the 101st Congress, which mandates the return of certain Human remains, funerary objects, sacred object, and objects of cultural patrimony and provides for the protection of Native American Graves sites and

WHEREAS,

The ITCFCT desires to protect and preserve the cultural heritage of the Southeast cultures, have developed a Cultural Preservation Committee (NAGPRA) Committee for the purposes of addressing mutual concerns relevant to resolve of these spiritual disturbances within our Native communities and

WHEREAS,

The Cultural Preservation Committee (NAGPRA) recognizes the need to amend the Inter-Tribal NAGPRA policy statement by correcting a sentence, adding Kentucky, and correcting typographical errors as needed, which will ensure consensual agreements are promoted among federally recognized tribal governments, federal and/or state agencies, museums and/or repositories.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma supports the proposed amendments to the NAGPRA Policy Statement.

CERTIFICATION

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma meeting at the Choctaw Community Center, McAlester, Oklahoma on 13^{th} of October, 2000, by a vote of $\underline{25}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against, and $\underline{0}$ abstentions.

Chadwick Smith Signed

Chadwick Smith, Principal Chief

Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed

Perry Beaver, Principal Chief

Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Jefferson Keel Signed for

Bill Anoatubby, Governor

Chickasaw Nation

Greg E. Pyle Signed

Gregory E. Pyle, Chief

Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed

Jerry Haney, Principal Chief

Seminole Nation