# The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

#### NUMBER 2000-19

# A RESOLUTION TO SUPPORT THE STEERING COMMITTEE OF THE RACIAL & ETHNIC APPROACHES TO COMMUNITY HEALTH (REACH) PROGRAM

### WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 400,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

#### WHEREAS.

The REACH Program has been established by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to support improved health status for American Indians, and

# WHEREAS,

The State of Oklahoma submitted a grant proposal to obtain funding and was awarded \$1,119,666 to support this effort, and

#### WHEREAS.

Eight Tribes and one urban Indian center, were established as the Steering Committee and recipients of this funding, and the State Department of Health as the Contractor, and

#### WHEREAS.

Four members of this Steering Committee are member Tribes of the Inter-Tribal Council; Seminole, Cherokee, Chickasaw, and Choctaw, and

#### WHEREAS,

The State of Oklahoma cannot establish an advance payment system for distribution of this funding of this grant and it would cause undue financial hardship on some of the Tribes; and

#### WHEREAS.

It is important to maintain a relationship with the State of Oklahoma with importance given to tribal sovereignty, and

# WHEREAS,

The member tribes of the Inter-Tribal Council support the efforts of the Steering Committee to request an alternate contractor other than the State of Oklahoma,

# NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma support the Steering Committee in finding an alternate contractor for the REACH grant.

#### **CERTIFICATION**

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma meeting at the Choctaw Community Center, McAlester, Oklahoma on 12<sup>th</sup> of October, 2000, by a vote of 25 for, 0 against, and 0 abstentions.

Chadwick Smith Signed Chadwick Smith, Principal Chief

Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed

Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Jefferson Keel Signed for

Chickasaw Nation

Bill Anoatubby, Governor

Greg E. Pyle Signed

Gregory E. Pyle, Chief **Choctaw Nation** 

Jerry Haney Signed

Jerry Haney, Principal Chief

Seminole Nation