The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 2000-<u>17</u> **PRESERVATION OF NATIVE LANGUAGES**

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 400,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS,

The federal government of the United States has a relationship with Native American governments who have an interest in preserving and enhancing their languages to ensure the survival and continued vitality of their precious and ancient tongues; and

WHEREAS,

The Five Civilized Tribes have unique and historical languages that have survived for generations through the teaching of the elders; and

WHEREAS,

The Five Civilized Tribes have a deep concern in preserving the Native languages in providing tribally specific language programs that will be accessible for all age groups; and

WHEREAS,

The Five Civilized Tribes are in jeopardy of losing their Native languages due to the limited number of fluent speakers.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes do hereby let it be known that they actively support the development and implementation of tribal language presentation programs.

CERTIFICATION

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma meeting at the Choctaw Community Center, McAlester, Oklahoma on July 7, 2000, by a vote of $\underline{23}$ for, 0 against, and 0 abstentions.

Chadwick Smith Signed

Chadwick Smith, Principal Chief

Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed

Perry Beaver, Principal Chief

Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Kennedy Brown Signed for

Bill Anoatubby, Governor

Chickasaw Nation

Greg E. Pyle Signed

Gregory E. Pyle, Chief

Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed

Jerry Haney, Principal Chief

Seminole Nation