The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 2000-14

A RESOLUTION TO RENAME THE INTER-TRIBAL JUVENILE DETENTION TASK FORCE TO THE INTER-TRIBAL JUVENILE JUSTICE COMMITTEE AND TO SET FORTH SAID COMMITTEE'S RESPONSIBILITIES

WHEREAS.

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 400,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS.

The representatives from the Five Tribes have met together since April 1999 as an Inter-Tribal Task Force pursuant to Inter-Tribal Council Resolution 99-09 and determined that the juvenile services needs of the Five Tribes should be first addressed in order to adequately determine the juvenile detention needs of the Five Tribes; and

WHEREAS,

None of the Five Tribes have services that comprehensively address the needs of at-risk and delinquent youth; and

WHEREAS,

The needs for such services should be carefully studied so that solutions can be developed to respond to the needs of those youth; and

WHEREAS,

The study and development of solutions might be most efficiently addressed if the Five Tribes collaborated through an Inter-Tribal task force;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes has determined that this Task Force shall be renamed the Inter-Tribal Juvenile Justice Task Force and shall be formed to analyze the needs of at-risk and delinquent youth of the tribes, to propose and develop services to address those needs, and to seek funding for the development and implementation of such services.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Executive leader of each of the Five Tribes should appoint on or more persons to be members of said Task Force, and that the Task Force shall report its findings and recommendations to the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes.

CERTIFICATION

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma meeting at the Choctaw Community Center, McAlester, Oklahoma on July 7, 2000, by a vote of $\underline{23}$ for, 0 against, and 0 abstentions.

Chadwick Smith Signed

Chadwick Smith, Principal Chief

Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed

Perry Beaver, Principal Chief

Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Kennedy Brown Signed for

Bill Anoatubby, Governor

Chickasaw Nation

Greg E. Pyle Signed

Gregory E. Pyle, Chief

Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed

Jerry Haney, Principal Chief

Seminole Nation