The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 2000-11

INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL RESOLUTION OPPOSING H.R. 1960 AND H.R. 2 2ITH RESPECT TO TRIBAL EDUCATION DEPARTMENT APPROPRIATIONS AUTHORIZATION THROUGH THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 400,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS.

In the Improving America's Schools Act of 1994, Pub. L. No. 103-382, Congress authorized appropriations for tribal education departments through the U.S. Department of Education; and

WHEREAS,

This appropriations authorization is in recognition of the vital role that tribal education departments play in improving the educational conditions for tribal students; and

WHEREAS.

In the bills reauthorizing the Elementary and Secondary Education Act programs, H.R. 1960 and H.R. 2 would eliminate the appropriations authorization; and

WHEREAS,

These eliminations are contrary to the nation-to-nation relationship between Indian tribes and the United States, and are detrimental to tribal students; and

WHEREAS,

The proper treatment of this issue is found in the reauthorization bill S.2, which retains the appropriations reauthorization for tribal education department funding;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes hereby opposes H.R. 1960 and H.R. 2 with respect to the provisions that would eliminate the authorization for appropriations for tribal education departments through the U.S. Department of Education.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes does hereby call upon the Congress of the United States and the Clinton Administration to take affirmative measures to sufficiently fund tribal education departments, established or to be established, for the benefit of Indian people.

CERTIFICATION

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma meeting at the Pontotoc County Agriplex in Ada, Oklahoma on April 7, 2000, by a vote of $\underline{21}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against, and 0 abstentions.

John A. Ketcher Signed for Chadwick Smith, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed
Perry Beaver, Principal Chief
Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Jefferson Keal Signed for Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation Greg E. Pyle Signed Gregory E. Pyle, Chief Choctaw Nation

James Factor Signed for
Jerry Haney, Principal Chief
Seminole Nation