# The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

#### NUMBER 2000-08

# REQUEST FOR TRIBAL CONSULTATION AND COORDINATION IN DEVELOPING FUNDING METHODOLOGY FOR BUREAU OF INDIAN AFFAIRS HOUSING IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM

#### WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 400,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

#### WHEREAS,

The Bureau of Indian Affairs has developed and implemented a FY 2000 funding methodology using an eligible applicant basis for the Housing Improvement Program in 25 CFR part 256, and

#### WHEREAS,

In 25 CFR part 256.3(b) every Indian who meets basic eligibility criteria defined in section 253.6 is entitled to participate in the HIP program, and

#### WHEREAS,

In 25 CFR part 256.12 the Housing Improvement Program is administered by the servicing housing office which establishes eligibility of HIP applicants based on numerical values in part 256.14(2), and

#### WHEREAS,

The Bureau of Indian Affairs has determined a methodology based on eligible applicants, "neediest of the needy," which is contrary to the regulations in 25 CFR 256, and

#### WHEREAS,

Tribal consultation has been ignored in violation of the president's *Executive* Order 13084, Consultation and Coordination with Indian Tribal Governments, and

### NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes hereby respectfully requests that the Bureau of Indian Affairs establish meaningful consultation and coordination with Indian Tribal governments in the development of regulatory practices and the development of funding methodologies and policies for the Bureau of Indian Affairs Housing Improvement Programs.

## CERTIFICATION

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma meeting at the Pontotoc County Agriplex in Ada, Oklahoma on April 7, 2000, by a vote of 21 for, 0 against, and 0 abstentions.

John A. Ketcher Signed for Chadwick Smith, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation Greg E. Pyle Signed Gregory E. Pyle, Chief Choctaw Nation

James Factor Signed for Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation

Jefferson Keal Signed for Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation