The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 2000-<u>07</u> A RESOLUTION APPROVING A CONSORTIUM OF THE HEALTHCARE SYSTEMS OF THE FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 400,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS,

The National Advisory Committee on Rural Health is meeting in Eufaula, Oklahoma for its June meeting, and

WHEREAS,

The National Advisory Committee on Rural Health is responsible for advising the secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services on rural health issues, and

WHEREAS,

The National Advisory Committee on Rural Health plays an important role in making sure that federal health policy takes into account the special situations in rural America, and

WHEREAS,

The National Advisory Committee on Rural Health will spend a considerable portion of its time t its June meeting examining the critical rural health issues faced by Oklahoma in general and the thirty-seven federally recognized tribes that reside and provide health care for their citizens.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes hereby endorses the National Advisory Committee on Rural Health meeting to be held in Eufaula, Oklahoma in June, 2000 by attending and giving testimony to the committee concerning funding disparities to the Oklahoma Native Americans for health care as compared to other areas of the United States.

CERTIFICATION

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma meeting at the Pontotoc County Agriplex in Ada, Oklahoma on April 7, 2000, by a vote of 21 for, 0 against, and 0 abstentions.

John A. Ketcher Signed for Chadwick Smith, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation Greg E. Pyle Signed Gregory E. Pyle, Chief Choctaw Nation

James Factor Signed for Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation

Jefferson Keal Signed for Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation