L-R: Governor Bill Anoatubby, Chickasaw Nation, Principal Chief Bill John Baker, Cherokee Nation, Principal Chief Leonard Harjo, Seminole Nation, Chief Gary Batton, Choctaw Nation, and Principal Chief George Tiger, Muscogee (Creek) Nation.

Formed as a result of various meetings held in 1949 between various leaders and representatives of the Five Civilized Tribes, the Constitution of the Inter-Tribal Council clearly stated the objectives as follows:
··· to secure to ourselves and our descendants the rights and benefits to which we are entitled under the laws of the United States of America, and the State of Oklahoma; to enlighten the public toward a better understanding of the Indian race; to preserve Indian cultural values; to enhance and promote general educational opportunity among members of the Five Civilized Tribes; to seek equitable adjustments of tribal affairs; to secure and to preserve rights under Indian Treaties with the United States; and other-wise to promote the common welfare of the American Indians ····

Seminole Nation Principal Chief Leonard Harjo is now the President of the Inter-Tribal Council.